Use case

This is useful if you need to have someone approve content before it is to be published but don't want them to have full access to the CMS.

Caveats

  • This is not possible for sites that use IP White listing for access to the cms domain

Steps

  • Login to the CMS with admin credentials
  • Click the "Security" link on the main left navigation (/admin/security/)
  • Click the "Groups" tab in the top left
  • Add a new Group, don't select a "Parent Group" and leave all "Permissions" unchecked
  • Save the Group, this will give you the ability to add Users to the Group
  • Add existing or new users as required
  • Click the "Pages" link on the main left navigation (/admin/pages/)
  • Select the page you wish to be reviewed
  • Click the "Settings" tab in the top right
  • Uncheck "Show in menus?" & "Show in search?" for Visibility (see Screenshots below)
  • Select "Only these people (choose from list)" for "Who can view this page?", this will reveal a new field that allows you to select the new Group you created in the previous steps(see Screenshots below)
  • You can now Publish the page and users will be unable find or access the page.
  • Provide the link for the page to the person that needs to approve it.
  • When accessed by a user that is not-logged into the the CMS the browser will re-direct to allow the user to login
  • After successful login the page can be viewed in it's published state
  • To make the page visible to the general public just re-check "Show in menus?" & "Show in search?" for Visibility and select "Inherit from parent page" or "Anyone" for "Who can view this page?" in the "Settings" for the page.

Screenshots